Thomas Adès | Prokofiev | Schubert at The Bridgewater Hall

Will Fulford-Jones
BBC Philharmonic

Thomas Adès | Prokofiev | Schubert at The Bridgewater Hall, City Centre, 6 April 2019, from £17.5 - Book now

Thomas Adès – Three Studies from Couperin (14’)
Prokofiev – Violin Concerto No. 1 (21’)
Schubert – Symphony No. 9, ‘Great C major’ (48’)

So much of Franz Schubert’s later music seems to give off the impression that the composer knew he wouldn’t be long for this world. Little known during his life, the Austrian composer died in 1828 at the age of just 31 (and was buried next to his hero, Ludwig van Beethoven). As evidenced by works such as his towering Ninth Symphony, nicknamed the ‘Great’, he fulfilled much of his early promise, but he surely had plenty more to give when typhoid prematurely cut him down. The concert opens with a work that could hardly be more different in size and scale: Three Studies from Couperin, Thomas Adès’s elegant 21st-century homage to the French Baroque master. And in between, a landmark concerto from an era even more turbulent than the one through which we’re currently living: Alina Pogostkina is the soloist in Prokofiev’s edgy yet romantic First Violin Concerto, composed against the turbulent backdrop of the Russian Revolution. The conductor is Clemens Schuldt, who made a tremendous impression on his Bridgewater Hall debut with the BBC Philharmonic in April 2018.

Alina Pogostkina – violin
Clemens Schuldt – conductor

Thomas Adès | Prokofiev | Schubert at The Bridgewater Hall, City Centre

6 April 2019
From £17.5

Things to do right now

Powered by culturehosts
Cinema 2 November–13 December 2018, from £5

Peterloo at HOME

Cinema 9 November–13 December 2018, from £5

Widows at HOME

Families 6–15 December 2018, from £6

Black Beauty at Z-arts

Activity 24 November–15 December 2018, from £4

World of Music at Band on the Wall

PAPER Gallery in Manchester presents Tim Ellis - Cypher
Exhibitions 10 November–15 December 2018, FREE

Tim Ellis: Cypher at PAPER Gallery

Red Squirrel at Lightwaves
Festivals 7–16 December 2018, FREE

Lightwaves 2018 at The Quays

Re: work at The Holden Gallery
Exhibitions 5 November–19 December 2018, FREE

Re: work at The Holden Gallery

RNCM Autumn Season Creative Tourist
Music 6 September–19 December 2018, from £5

RNCM Autumn Season

Cinema 7–20 December 2018, from £5.50

The Old Man & the Gun at HOME

Contact In The City Part Two
Theatre 15 August–23 December 2018,

Contact In The City Part Two

Photo of the festive display outside the Corn Exchange
Families 9 November–23 December 2018, FREE

Manchester Christmas Markets