Stravinsky | Dvořák | Martinu at The Bridgewater Hall

Will Fulford-Jones
BBC Philharmonic

Stravinsky/Dvořák/Martinu at The Bridgewater Hall, City Centre, 23 March 2019, from £12.5 - Book now

Stravinsky – Orpheus (29’)
Dvořák – Cello Concerto in B minor (39’)
Martinů – Symphony No. 4 (33’)

A really fascinating programme, this, with John Storgårds conducting the BBC Philharmonic with three works written by European composers in the United States. The earliest to make the journey was Antonin Dvořák, who left his Prague home in 1892 to take up the directorship of a prestigious music college in New York. He stayed for just three years, but the experience inspired some of his best-known and best-loved music – the ‘New World’ Symphony, whose second movement may be familiar as the theme to the old Hovis TV commercial, and the magnificent Cello Concerto, performed here by soloist Andrei Ioniță.

Fellow Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů followed in Dvořák’s footsteps nearly 50 years later, but under very different circumstances – blacklisted by the Nazis, he fled to take shelter during the Second World War. Four years after his 1941 arrival, the Germans were vanquished – and Martinů marked the moment with the majestic Fourth Symphony. The third work on the programme is Orpheus by Igor Stravinsky, whose relationship with the US blossomed so much after his 1939 move to California that he was eventually given a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Andrei Ioniță – cello
John Storgårds – conductor

Stravinsky/Dvořák/Martinu at The Bridgewater Hall, City Centre

23 March 2019 7:30 pm
From £12.5

Things to do right now

Powered by culturehosts
Music Until 16 February 2023, from £9.50

Donna Candy at SOUP

vegan super club
Activity Until 17 February 2023, from £50

Supper Club at the Vegetarian Society Cookery School

Exhibitions Until 18 February 2023, FREE

The Confessional at HOME

Queer Contact 2023
Comedy Until 18 February 2023,

Queer Contact Festival 2023

PUSH Festival 2023 at HOME
Festivals Until 18 February 2023,

PUSH Festival 2023 at HOME

The Singing Mermaid at Waterside
Families Until 19 February 2023, from £14.00

The Singing Mermaid at Waterside CANCELLED

Activity Until 25 February 2023, from £13

Elizabeth Gaskell’s House Tour

Fairy Tales at Z-Arts
Families Until 26 February 2023, from £3.00

Fairy Tales at Z-arts

Activity Until 6 March 2023, from £6.00

Shake it off: Music Video Dance Class with Girl Gang

Exhibitions Until 6 March 2023, FREE

Screen Time at KERB

The Lion King at the Palace Theatre
Families Until 11 March 2023, from £20.00

The Lion King at the Palace Theatre

Childrens Until 18 March 2023, FREE

Outdoor Art Club at The Whitworth