Ravel | Elgar | Stravinsky at The Bridgewater Hall

Will Fulford-Jones
Sheku Kanneh-Mason BBC Philharmonic
Sheku Kanneh-Mason

Ravel | Elgar | Stravinsky at The Bridgewater Hall, City Centre, 1 November 2018, from £12.5 - Book now

Ravel – Le tombeau de Couperin (18’)
Elgar – Cello Concerto (27’)
Stravinsky – Petrushka (1947 version) (34’)

Since winning the BBC Young Musician award in 2016, cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason has performed everywhere from the Royal Albert Hall, for the BBC Proms, to St George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle, for the wedding of Prince Harry and Megan Markle. Still a teenager, Kanneh-Mason is now combining his studies at the Royal Academy of Music with an increasingly busy career as a sought-after soloist – and to mark the centenary of Armistice, which ended the First World War in November 1918, Kanneh-Mason and conductor Joana Carneiro are turning their attention to one of the best-known and best-loved cello concertos in the repertoire, Elgar’s memorial for a world changed beyond recognition by the conflict. The other two works on the programme date from the same era, though they’re very different in tone and scope. While Stravinsky’s kinetic Petrushka anticipates the shock of the same composer’s Rite of Spring, which was written just a couple of years later, Ravel’s Le tombeau de Couperin pays gentler homage to the music of the French baroque era.

Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello
Joana Carneiro conductor

Ravel | Elgar | Stravinsky at The Bridgewater Hall, City Centre

1 November 2018 7:30 pm
From £12.5

Things to do right now

Powered by culturehosts
Activity Until 3 February 2023, from £30.00

Baumka Conscious Clubbing at Victoria Warehouse

Music Until 16 February 2023, from £9.50

Donna Candy at SOUP

vegan super club
Activity Until 17 February 2023, from £50

Supper Club at the Vegetarian Society Cookery School

Exhibitions Until 18 February 2023, FREE

The Confessional at HOME

PUSH Festival 2023 at HOME
Festivals Until 18 February 2023,

PUSH Festival 2023 at HOME

The Singing Mermaid at Waterside
Families Until 19 February 2023, from £14.00

The Singing Mermaid at Waterside CANCELLED

Activity Until 25 February 2023, from £13

Elizabeth Gaskell’s House Tour

Fairy Tales at Z-Arts
Families Until 26 February 2023, from £3.00

Fairy Tales at Z-Arts

Activity Until 6 March 2023, from £6.00

Shake it off: Music Video Dance Class with Girl Gang

The Lion King at the Palace Theatre
Families Until 11 March 2023, from £20.00

The Lion King at the Palace Theatre

Childrens Until 18 March 2023, FREE

Outdoor Art Club at The Whitworth

Activity Until 22 March 2023, FREE

Guided Tours at People’s History Museum