The Hallé – Fanfare for the Hallé

Johnny James, Managing Editor
The Hallé

3 December 2020 — 10 April 2021 Tickets from £5 — Book now

HUW WATKINS Fanfare for the Hallé (World Premiere)
RICHARD WAGNER Die Meistersinger: Suite
BRAHMS Symphony No.1

Sir Mark Elder CONDUCTOR

The first concert in the Hallé’s Winter Season will see Sir Mark Elder conduct two glorious works by Romantic masters as well as a world premiere by Huw Watkins.

Celebrating their return to the stage, the Hallé will open with a brand new fanfare written for the orchestra by British composer Huw Watkins. The bright mood continues with Wagner’s Suite from his comic opera Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg. With such variety and apparently endless flow of melody, it’s a life-enhancing work full of blazing sonorities and characteristic invention.

Closing the concert is Brahms’ First Symphony, which emerged after 20 years of struggle as the German composer wrestled with writing a symphony worthy of Beethoven – ‘that giant whose steps I always hear behind me.’ By the First’s conclusion, Brahms proved himself a true successor, nowhere more so than in the finale with its radiant horn tune (transcribed from Swiss alpine horns) and main theme, daringly referencing the Master’s ‘Ode to Joy’ from the Ninth Symphony.

Appropriately for a season of firsts, this will be the first time that Sir Mark has conducted this Brahms symphony with the Hallé.

As with all nine concerts in the season, Fanfare for the Hallé will be streamed on Vimeo at


3 December 2020 — 10 April 2021 Tickets from £5 Book now

Where to go near The Hallé – Fanfare for the Hallé

Fairfield Social Club

Launching in spring 2024, Fairfield Social Club is a multi-purpose site next to Angel Meadows Park in the Green Quarter.

The Coro

Nestled in the heart of Ulverston, a rural market town on the fringes of the Lake District, stands The Coro —an esteemed historic hub for arts, culture, and entertainment

Sam Read Bookseller

Award-winning small bookshop in the Lake District. Est. by Sam Read in 1887. Run by Will Smith and Polly Atkin.


Capri serves up homely, family-style Italian food in North Yorkshire.

Manchester Wine Tours

Manchester Wine Tours is a relaxed, fun wine tour, taking in four or five venues across three hours, plus six high-quality glasses of wine.

Juno Books

Friendly local queer and intersectional feminist bookshop in Sheffield. Visit for interesting fiction and non fiction books.

The Dusty Miller

Family friendly pub situated in the beautiful village of Mytholmroyd.

What's on: Music

DJ Gym at Hatch

Learn some DJ and production skills with DJ Gym Manchester, based in the culturally infused surrounds of Hatch.

from £269
RNCM Autumn Season

The RNCM’s Autumn Season brings with it an incredibly diverse programme of live music from across the genre spectrum. Here are our highlights.

from £8.50

Culture Guides

Music in Manchester and the North

Spotlighting global artists who all, in one way or another, break the mould, we preview the best gigs happening this side of Christmas and beyond.