Event listings – Festival of Britten

Phoebe Hurst
Opera North, Benjamin Britten, Festival of Britten listings

Our full event listings for the Opera North Festival of Britten, which runs across the UK this autumn.

Opera North marks one hundred years since the birth of Benjamin Britten with a full season of three mainstage productions: Peter Grimes, Death in Venice and A Midsummer Night’s Dream. To find out when these productions are on, as well as find out what other events Opera North is staging, read on.

Friday 25 October 2013

Death in Venice at Leeds Grand Theatre, 7.00pm.

Saturday 26 October 2013

Peter Grimes at Leeds Grand Theatre, 7.00pm.

Friday 1 November 2013

Death in Venice at Snape Maltings Concert Hall, Aldeburgh, 7.30pm.

Saturday  2 November 2013

Death in Venice at Snape Maltings Concert Hall, Aldeburgh, 7.30pm.

Tuesday 5 November 2013

Peter Grimes at The Lowry, 7.00pm

Wednesday 6 November 2013

A Midsummer Night’s Dream at The Lowry, 7.00pm.

Thursday 7 November 2013

Death in Venice at The  Lowry, 7.00pm.

Friday 8 November 2013

A Midsummer Night’s Dream at The Lowry, 7.00pm.

Saturday 9 November 2013

Peter Grimes at The Lowry, 7.00pm.

Tuesday 12 November 2013

A Midsummer Night’s Dream at Theatre Royal Newcastle, 7.00pm

Wednesday 13 November 2013

Peter Grimes at Theatre Royal Newcastle, 7.00pm

Thursday 14 November 2013

Peter Grimes at Theatre Royal Newcastle, 7.00pm

Friday 15 November 2013

A Midsummer Night’s Dream at Theatre Royal Newcastle, 7.00pm

Saturday 16 November 2013

Peter Grimes at Theatre Royal Newcastle, 7.00pm

Tuesday 19 November 2013

A Midsummer’s Night Dream at Theatre Royal Nottingham, 7.00pm

Wednesday 20 November 2013

Peter Grimes at Theatre Royal Nottingham, 7.00pm

Thursday 21 November 2013

Death in Venice at Theatre Royal Nottingham, 7.00pm

Friday 22 November 2013

A Midsummer Night’s Dream at Theatre Royal Nottingham, 7.00pm

Saturday 23 November

Peter Grimes at Theatre Royal Nottingham, 7.00pm

Culture Guides

Kamila Shamsie. Photo Alex von Tunzelman

Literature

There are plenty of online readings and live launches as Manchester and the North welcomes some great writers with book festival season getting underway, and there are loads of new spoken word nights and open mics to check out…

Music

Autumn’s a fine old time for gigs in Manchester and the North. From otherworldly folk to life-affirming soul, here are our top picks for October onwards.

Theatre in Manchester and the North

Theatre

As the new theatre season gets ready to launch, we champion some of the star performances happening over the next few months.

Classical Music in Manchester and the North

We preview the standout classical music events and venues in Manchester and the north.

Food and Drink

Explore the best restaurants and bars in Manchester and the North as we head into autumn.

Cinema

David Bowie, Japanese classics and some early spooky screenings all feature in this month’s cinema guide.

Exhibitions

Welcome the autumnal season with all of the art goodness that it brings – there are so many brand new exhibitions to see!

Families

As we say bye to the summer holidays and begin to welcome in the cooler months, Manchester’s events and activities continue to bring joy and fun to families.

Tours and Activities

Every season change is an excuse to try something new, and when it comes to tours and activities, autumn delivers!